round up

I meant to blog last week, but I found the Virginia Tech shootings so upsetting that I could not think of a thing to say that didn’t feel cheap and meaningless. So many promising lives cut short.

I was also saddened to see that Kurt Vonnegut died. RIP, Mr. Vonnegut.

Some people have asked what’s up with the book/movie/glass eye, and I so I thought I might do a general round up.

The Sweet Far Thing: Some of you may have noticed that the third book has a new release date. It will now be published in December instead of September. I would have dearly loved to have gotten it out in September, but doing a third revision on 1,000 pages in just three weeks proved…how should I put this…oh yeah, insane. I was excited about the direction the second draft took–all the new things that popped up in the writing of it–and I wanted more time to really develop those ideas, to write the best possible book. And Random House was nice enough to support me in that. So, we bought a little more time in the schedule. Not much, but some. I’m back to writing every day. I just rewrote the first six chapters and felt very good about them. Added a new prologue. (I had written no less than four different prologues and didn’t quite “feel” any of them. Then I tried it without a prologue and didn’t like that either. Now, just like Goldilocks, this one feels “just right.”) Anyway, it’s nice to be back to it and it will be hard to say goodbye to these characters.

The Movie: So I met with my film agent, the lovely Lindsay, who gave me the update that there is a finished script. So, hooray! There is a script! And now you know everything that I do. (I promise I will post the minute I hear more.)

The glass eye: Yes, it’s true. I have a glass eye. Well, technically it’s plastic. I always wanted a bionic one. Or maybe an eye with attachments, kind of like a Swiss Army Knife body part. Maybe it could have a little flashlight for those times I’m looking in the pantry for paper towels but can’t find anything because it’s too dark in there. Or maybe…no, maybe I should stop coming up with stuff and get back to the writing.

Kartik and Gemma: Yes, much K/G action in new book, and I’m going to give you some teasers right here. Ready? I particularly like the part where Gemma says, “I love you” and Kartik answers, “I know” just before he’s frozen in Carbonite. Oh wait. That’s “The Empire Strikes Back.” Sorry. But it is cool when Kartik kisses Gemma and she becomes an ogre just like him and…hmmm. Oh, oh, how about when Gemma shows up in black leather pants and says, “Tell me about it, stud,” and Kartik’s eyes get really big and he starts singing, “I got chills, they’re multiplyin’ and I’m losing control…” No? Well, um, stuff happens.

There is kissing, though. Promise.

And that is all for now.

409 thoughts on “round up

  1. I’m sooooooooooooo excited!

    You have no idea how excited I am for your new book! I’m more excited about this one than the next Harry Potter, that’s pretty good for me. I’m really glad that there’s Kartik and Gemma action, I can’t wait, you have no idea! O, how do you pronounce her name? Is it Gemma with a J sound or G sound, I’ve never known. Anyway, I’m going to ask for your new book for Christmas and my parents better get it for me or else I’ll rob a Barnes and Nobles, I don’t care. O, and what is the title for the new book (I’m getting rather tired of calling it the new book, lol).

  2. I saw the K/G comment and screamed so loud that THREE people came running into the room and asked me if I was okay. I am now even more excited for the book! Basically I read the first one in about two days, then the second one immediately after and now sit here trying to think about something other than the third book…but that’s easier said than done. I was literally, physically attached to AGATB and RA. I read at lunch, during class (um, I mean, of course not, I was totally paying attention), on the bus, before school, basically every waking moment. Then I got super excited telling my mom about the book, and even wrote a reallllllly long e-mail to my grandmother (we always talk about books) about how much I loved it. I think people are beginning to get scared of me. You brought everything I want to be able to write into one story and I am officially addicted!

  3. hey, if its a better book, ill wait any amount of time, however, if it ends up being 1000 pages, that will make even better, lol. the longer it is the longer it will take 4 me 2 read and more reading for me then, yay! and more annoyance 4 my friend who has 2 deal w/ me reading even when im hanging out w/ her, lol. ill be like reading in the car on the way 2 school and she’ll be driving and she’ll be like sarah? sarah? sarah?! and ill get really annoyed and be like WHAT?!! WHAT DO U WANT?! CAN’T U C IM TRYING 2 READ THE MOST AWESOMEST BOOK IN THE WHOLE ENTIRE FREAKIN WORLD! omg that brings up a really really funny story. she being my bf beka, likes 2 close her eyes and kinda get some shut eye when we stop at red lights really early in the morning on our way 2 school and one time i was reading and was in the world of the realms and spence and she says sarah tell me when the light turns green and she closes her eyes. and of course i don’t hear this bc i’ve officially gone into the book and there is no beka in the realms or spence. and then the person behind us beeps their horn cuz i guess the light turned green, but how would i know. im not paying attention to reality, im paying attention to the book. who cares about traffic? traffic can wait 4 all i care but beka doesn’t seem 2 have the same opinion. so of course her eyes shoot open 2 find that the light has turned green and boy did i get it from her. SARAH! I TOLD U 2 TELL ME WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN! and im unfortunanently pulled out of the wonderful world of the realms and shot back into reality. she didn’t talk 2 me 4 like the first half of the day at school and she hates it when i read, but do i care? heck no. AGATB n RA beat morning gossip in the car and even gossiping during lunch. i downed my lunches in like 5 minutes so that i could read during it lol. i can’t wait 4 the next book! ITS GOING 2 BE AWESOME!

  4. I can’t wait to read your book. It sounds like its gonna be a blast! You and Tamora Pierce are right up there with my gandmas; perfect role models.

    …’Course…they did art rather than writing…but it’s the same idea!

    Anyway, can’t wait to read it!

  5. A third book to A Great and Terrible Beauty

    i have looked everywhere and i was wondering if there was a third book coming out and what it’s name is if there is one. and i really love your books keep writing them iknow ill keep buying them

  6. Is casting for this movie going to be open to orindary people like oh i don’t know me? =]I have seriously been looking on all sorts of casting websites to find out. Besides my drama teacher i have no connections to finding out something like that. It’s been driving me insane! If you travel to look for a Gemma come on down to Orlando.

    anyway, now that I’m done ranting about that…..
    I can’t wait for the next book!! Yay more Gemma and Kartik kissing!!

Leave a Reply

