Uh, did I say the 15th?

Heh, heh. Yeah. About that deadline. Got an extension–till Tuesday the 20th.

I feel like I am in an unholy merger of “Project Runway” and “Supersize Me.” Like I’m running through Mood Fabrics with the clock ticking and the only thing I’ve ingested are coffee and whatever bread products they sell at Tea Lounge so I don’t have to leave. My liver probably looks like beef jerky by now. (In a funny aside, I actually saw Morgan Spurlock in here one day, and I thought it might be a sign from the universe that I needed to eat a vegetable. I didn’t actually eat a vegetable, but I thought about it. Doesn’t that count for something?)

The current page count on the book is 674 pages, but that’s because it’s in a neat, tidy Times Roman. (cheating) When I put it into Courier 12-pt. like I’m supposed to, it’s gonna clock in at well over 700. AAAHHHHHHHHH!!!!! Mood Fabrics! The chiffon or the leopard print! Make it work, people! Models to makeup! I’ll have fries with that! Supersize Me–SUPERSIZE ME!!!!

Yesterday (and the day before that…and the day before…well you get the idea) I sat at Tea Lounge from 8:30 until 6:30. My husband tried to make conversation with me last night and I just stared at him blankly. Sorry, all my words have been used up. It was like a game of charades. I was actually reduced to using my fingers to talk. “Where’s the…you know…that fuzzy who lives here…we feed her…whiskers, tail…” “Cat?” “Riiiight. Cat.”

I put the bag with the milk on the table and the bag with my gloves in the refrigerator. I made the mistake of having three cup of coffee which made me as paranoid as Al Pacino in “Scarface.” I was convinced I had given myself brain damage. (See how fun I am at the end of deadline? So, so fun. Big party in my brain. All the time.)

Okay, I left Gemma and Kartik in the middle of an argument. I should probably go back and see what happens. Wow, this bagel is good. Sorry, liver, but I must.

Thanks for all the well wishes–they really help. 🙂

And just think, next week I can discuss really important issues…like the new season of “American Idol.” I swore to myself I would not get sucked in this year. I lied. Sweet Jesus, I lied.

188 thoughts on “Uh, did I say the 15th?

  1. “Yes we don’t think your a nobody” said the gir who has read over 100 books in 2 years (that really is not that good if you thik about it)-Jasmine

  2. lol

    OMG your deadline is up now *squeals* did you make it??? oh god i thin we are all are crossing our fingers and sweraing to ourselfs that we shall die if you didnt. lol i take it u are just slightly btense but just slightly lol. so yah me and my friend who also is an addict of you book made a bet on if you did or not soo i pray you did or im going to wave good bye 2 $20 *sob*.

    oh fighting in the book not good!!! is it over how much they love eachother??lol

    well i just want to say GOOD LUCK BABE on the book and after you finish the book i think a little trip to miami will do u good *sun and relxation* well bye bye have fun lol and try and keep your gloves out of the fridge it might harm their livers GO BAGLES!!!!

  3. Re: ecstatic, yo!!!

    That isn’t actually the preview for the movie: it’s the preview for the book…
    I know, it makes no sence, but look at a blog backlog and she explains it. ttly:)

  4. lol thtas actually kinda funny, u remind me of my science teacher who hasnt marked one of our asignments for 6 monthes. she said we’d get them back before 3rd term, but no one believes. she enjoys extending the mark giving days for us. but i think im more willing to forgive you since u are not an evil science teacher who makes us talk about oprah and how we all FEEL in science. we’ve had quite a few odd heart to heart talks about oprah and dance dance revolution this year…but thats better then science. anyways, keep up with it, just never finish the story release it by every five hundred pgs, then we will never have to be scared that we will have nothing to read!

  5. teen angst

    ok.i love ya but it really infurinates me that the day u update ur journal is the day my boyfriend dies.
    life sucks i miss gideon.
    u r funny though so it pepps me up a little.i love reading ur journal but i can’t post any of my own cuz i forgott my password(and it was a clever one).when i got a new one it wont let me in but at least i can read urs.
    if u come to kenmore washington could u call?id love for u to sign my book and hear ur ideas on a few stories.
    425 398 1684
    my name is gaby

  6. The NERVE of some people….

    LIBBA. BRAY.

    The nerve of you.

    We are waiting to hear if you made your deadline, and what do you do?

    NOTHING.

    A three word entry would be fine with me. I mean, seriously. Three words. “IT IS DONE.” or “IT IS NOT.”

    I have an unhealthy obsession. But I already knew that.

  7. Hello!

    Hello Mrs. Bray,

    My name is Megan Ebel and I am in 9th grade. I go to Ridley College boarding school in Ontario, Canada. I have read both of your books and I am a huge fan! I love to read (and often) but your books are by far the best and most interesting of all! I am currently writing a book review on ‘A Great and Terrible Beauty’ in my English class. It is due on Saturday the 24th and I was wondering if you could give me some background on the book and what it means personnaly to you. This would mean so much to me! My email is megan_ebel@ridleycollege.com Thank you for your time and I hope to hear back from you! Have a good evening!

    Your Fan
    Megan E.

  8. Hello!

    Hello Mrs. Bray,

    My name is Megan Ebel and I am in 9th grade. I go to Ridley College boarding school in Ontario, Canada. I have read both of your books and I am a huge fan! I love to read (and often) but your books are by far the best and most interesting of all! I am currently writing a book review on ‘A Great and Terrible Beauty’ in my English class. It is due on Saturday the 24th and I was wondering if you could give me some background on the book and what it means personnaly to you. This would mean so much to me! My email is megan_ebel@ridleycollege.com Thank you for your time and I hope to hear back from you! Have a good evening!

    Your Fan
    Megan E.

    PS. If you end up coming to St.Catherines anytime soon I would love for you to sign my book!

  9. LIBBA

    Dude, I’m going to be in NYC on March 16th. You HAVE to meet up with me this time. Angela-dot-l-dot-coate-at-gmail-dot-com. or call. Or I’ll call you. I still have your number. I’m a stalker, I know. But you called me first. I texted you last night.

  10. Well theres 365 days a year and I can finish a book in one day, so is I read 1 book every other day in one year I would finish…182.5 books!-Jasmine

  11. So excited……

    Im checking your lj every day to see if you have finished your book… I so can’t wait!!! My husband is beginning to wonder what I keep checking on the computer every two hours, hehe….

  12. I got you beat. I’m a sophomore now. 2nd quater of freshman year we turned in a paper to my english teacher and she still has not given them back, not that i’m expecting it.

  13. Vegetables

    Hey, if it’s any consolation, in my opinion, if you think about eating a vegetable, the calories still count. And as for the argument between Gemma and Kartik, just let them work it out on their own, but at least sway it in the reader’s favor with self-professing love and lots of P.D.A.s. Lots and lots of P.D.A.s. Good luck Libba.

    May the writer’s block wither and die.

  14. can’t wait for the book!

    (Haha, these entries always crack me up, so I thank you for that)
    Well, this would be my …. third? attempt to post something– I say “attempt” cause I keep on typing these comments, and something happens (like my dad shuts off the computer before I can post it).
    Anyways, I am SO EXCITED for this book your writing!!! I, of course, loved the ones before it (AG&TB & RB) — just ask my sister. I am so psyched that it’s now a HUGE book!!! -I really don’t want her adventures to end *tear* …. *sob*. But, how’s that deadline going? (considering it is past the deadline….) Good luck anyways, though, I know it’ll be an incredible-amazing-awesome book!
    – Nevada-Mist

  15. Re: So excited……

    i can so relate! its addicting…its like..”what if shes posted after i checked last?” (which is usually also every two hours) but i think if she hasnt posted by 10 or 11 AM then i dont think she will for the rest of the day. just a little tip so we all might make some progress in our lives instead of revolving around libbas lj lol….i tell u this but i know i will be back again to check in about 30 min. lol
    tata ;P

  16. Can’t wait for the next book! I’m re-reading the first two before #3 comes out. I’m in Ch 3 of the first book now. I wish you luck and infinite defense against writers’ block! Have a great day! ^_^

  17. Good Luck!

    At least you’re almost done. Just a bit more chaos and then you can be HAPPY! And I’ll buy it no matter how long it is. It’ll be awesome.

    Just try not to kill yourself before deadline, OK? Otherwise then… you’ll be dead.

    Ah well. Good luck, anyway. Everyone is hoping for the best.

  18. 700 pages is good…As long as its still 700 pages of interest and not lag, i’ll read it. I swear. Sweet Jeses, i lie to you not 🙂

  19. Your New Book

    Hi! I just came upon “A Great and Terrible Beauty” last week, and I just finished “Rebel Angels.” I had noticed that you left the book with quite a few questions, so I was hoping that you were still writing! I love your books and can’t wait for the next! I’ll be checking up! Thanks again for creating the amazing story of Gemma. You are wonderful writer.

  20. I want to read the book!!!!! REALLY BADLY I DO. Sorry for the caps but it’s the only way I can show my crazed anticipation about The Sweet Far Thing. I wish it was coming out sooner 😦 September is ages away.

  21. uggg omg ahhh its past dead line WHATS GOInG ON (sorry im a little hyper- i think to much coffe) well i shall speak for everyone when i say PLEASE POST IM DYING OVER HEAR TO KNOW IF YOU MADE DEADLINE heheh i pray to the all mighty you did but im hoping that its like super long.
    ps after the book is done and put will you pos all the out takes on you website????????????

  22. a thank you

    I dont really know how these things work but i just wanted to say i loved your books. For me reading is an escape, i have read and re-read both A Great and Terrible Beauty and Rebel Angels. To have a place to hide and to loss myself is a wonderful gift and i thank you. You have created a world that for a few hours i dare to believe in.

  23. I am so excited for the 3rd book. I totally hope Gemma and Kartik end up together! I have read both books 8 times already! I can’t get enough!

  24. Mrs. Bray I just want to let you know that your books are so important to me and that I am extremely happy I read them. I dont even really like fantasy that much but when I read your books I am just drawn in. Easily my favorite characters are Gemma and Kartik. I love Gemma because she may not always know exactly what to do but she is a very strong person. I love Kartik because well he is Kartik. The things he says and does just make me happy. (oh and the arguement they are having… when I eventually read that part I will probably get really sad and upset hopefully though it will work out) *begging you to bring Kartik and Gemma together* okay thanks for your time, good luck and I cant wait for A SWEET FAR THING!

Leave a Reply

