Viva Las 2006

It’s about 7:30 in the morning on January 2nd. I’ve gone for the I’ve-Got-Good-Intentions-in-the-New Year-Early Morning Run. (This is necessary as I spent the entire month of December eating as if the warden was coming to walk me to the chair. Honestly, I should have just set up bowls of sugar with big spoons in them all over the house. It would have been easier and more honest.) The sky is streaked with ribbons of pink like a promise of a happy day. I’m the only person awake in my house and I have a hot cup of coffee right next to me. This is about as good as it gets. I love early morning. It’s my favorite time of the day. I love the quiet, the stillness, the idea that everything is open and possible. (Now, in about three hours, I’m going to be enduring Chuck E. Cheese in the heart of Brooklyn on a school holiday–the kind of thing that makes a girl long for a valium smoothie–so I’m grabbing whatever nuggets of stillness I can while I can.)

But back to morning and new years and new starts. I always feel as if I should make resolutions, but I never do. For instance, I bought a can of black-eyed peas to eat on New Year’s Day (for luck, a southern thang) and I just couldn’t seem to get around to doing it. Strangely enough, survey says that pizza beats black-eyed peas hands down. Oh yeah, so much for that eating better in the new year thing. But I suppose I do have a few resolutions. I need to find a house. That’s a given. (Stress much?) I need to write this book. (Stress much, part II.) But those are more requirements than actual choice/resolutions. So what would I like to do this year?

* I would like to eat more vegetables.
* I would like to be more “in the moment” instead of restless and sometimes fretful and constantly looking behind or ahead or to the side or down or up. Maybe I could just focus on here and now and be okay with that. At least for an hour.
* I’d like to be less hard on myself.
* I’d like to challenge myself to become a better writer, to take more risks even if the result sucks. Experiment.
* I’d like to say what I think/feel more and trust that it will be okay, and if it’s not, trust that I will be okay anyway.
* I’d like to see more of my friends because they make life juicy and wonderful and I miss them when I’m working so much.
* I’d like to make more time to READ and not feel guilty for just sitting down with a good book since it’s one of life’s simple pleasures.
* I’d like to make peace with my hair.
* I’d like to sing in the shower more.
* I’d like to paint my walls all the colors I love: turquoise and green, red and chocolate brown, golden yellow and cinnamon, and leave no white space. I would like to frame my kid’s artwork and put it up everywhere. I’d like to make more art. I’d like to live messy.
* I’d like to run through the sprinklers with my best friend like we did the summer we were sixteen. Sprinklers rock. So do best friends.
* I’d like to take a weekend in the city with my husband just going to museums and record stores in the East Village and eating Indian food and seeing movies and buying knishes from that guy on 9th Street and seeing a show at Irving Plaza and just generally goofing off.
* I’d like to make t-shirts that read: You can be a freak, too! Ask me how.
* I’d like to say no.
* I’d like to say yes.
* I’d like to buy those converse shoes with the Hot Wheels-looking flames on the sides and wear them to PTA meetings.
* I’d like to learn to speak fluent Pig Latin.
* I’d like to banish fear.
* I’d like to learn to drive again. (Please see above.)
* I’d like to update my live journal more often.
* I’d like to conquer that public speaking phobia. (Hmmm, that could be a subset of banishing fear.)
* I’d like to be here now.

So, what do you want to do in 2006?

I hope you all had a (fill in blank with your word choice) new year.

343 thoughts on “Viva Las 2006

  1. My new years resolution was mostly to be happy with who I am and to stop criticizing myself. I realy want to work more on my acting and modeling career. I also want to finish my book I hope I can publish. I REALY LOVE YOUR BOOKS THEY ARE AWESOME!

    ANNIE, 13

  2. you should really write a sequel to rebel angels. i love your books. we want to know more of the story. also how do gemma and kartik end?

  3. haha she already did its called “Rebel Angels” and not only can you buy it most anywhere but shes coming out with a third one. It’s going to be a trilogy.

  4. Uh-Duh

    She said sequel to “Rebel Angels” not AGATB. Duh. Obviously she’s already read RA or else she wouldn’t have asked about a sequel to that.

  5. SOME ONE PLEASE HELP ME!

    No one has answered my comment yet and it has been forever so once again I was wondering, Does Felicity have certain “unknown” powers. b/c when they go to the caves for the 1st time she is very curious about the order along with Gemma and also at the end of the bok she tells Gemma that she sometimes sees things. What does she mean by that? If you could please help me by answering this ? it would help a lot. Thanks
    Cortney

  6. What are some things that you do to get the inspirations for things in your books? Oh yea, and there’s gonna be a third Gemma Doyle book right?!?!?! lol they are really good

  7. Thank You So Very Much

    I just wanted to say thank you so much for writing these two wonderful books. 🙂 I enjoy them very much, for I have read them both many times. I can only imagine how much creativity and courage it takes. Your books are my escape, my only escape. I am a young woman, working two jobs, going to school full time and supporting a husband in Iraq. Sometimes it get’s so hard and I feel like I’m going insane from all the stress. Your books take me to another world, far more different than mine. A stuffy, exciting, yet mysterious world. When I read your books, it helps take my mind off things. For those few chapters that I can work into my schedual (lol) I forget about the lonliness and stress I feel. In a way, your books are my haven. When I read your books I feel as if I’m there, with Gemma and Ann and Felicity. I’ve read many books and none of them have jumped out at me like your’s have. Well, I think I’ve said all that I feel is necessary to say. Obviosuly, if I wote it. (lol) Plus it’s time to go back to work. 🙂 Once again, thank you very much. I hope you know how much your books have helped me.

    P.S. I would like to add you to my buddy list, would you please let me know if that is okay with you?

  8. ….oooooook then….

    i went so nuts reading books by this author i like that my parents wont let me read the books anymore……….still readin the books……..what they dont know wont hurt me.

  9. Amazing Books!

    I read both of yours books as soon as they were released and they were both amazing. I started to recomend them to my friends only to find that they had becomed addicted to them just as i had. we cant wait for your next book to come out. THANK YOU!
    -Rachael

  10. Piglatin- from a fluent speaker

    ello-hay, ow-hay are-hay ou-yay? I-hay ove-lay ig-pay atin-lay! ou-yay an-can ay-say hatever-way ou-yay ant-way o-tay, and-hay obody-nay understands-hay hat-way ou-yay are-hay aying-say !!!

    oooooooohray-hay!!!!

    translation: hello, how are you? I love piglatin! you can say whatever you want to, and nobody understands what you are saying!!!

    hooooooooray!!!

  11. Hello; I do hope you don’t object to a complete stranger arriving in your journal? Considering the huge number of replies you evidently receive, this seems unlikely but I would not like to presume.

    My name is Adele Cosgrove-Bray, and I’m currently working on the first draft of my second horror/fantasy novel. Do feel free to take at look at my profile if you wish to. The similarity of our surnames caught my attention.

  12. Hi Mrs. Bray! My name is Alyson and I am the VP of my high school’s Literary Club. I read that you were born in Texas, and thought perhaps you could guest speak at one of our club meetings in the future? I go to Klein High School in Spring, TX right outside of Houston. I love your books, and think having an native Texan who has made a name for herself in the writing industry would greatly inspire my fellow club members. Plus, it would be exciting beyond all reason! My e-mail address is broadway_gal_1989@hotmail.com if you are at all interested in finding out more details. I hope you are!

  13. I CAN’T WAIT UNTILL THE 3RD BOOK COMES OUT!! WOULDN’T IT BE COOL IF THERE WAS A MOVIE? I WOULD SEE IT A MILLION TIMES. NICOLE KIDMAN WOULD BE A GOOD MRS. MOORE! DON’T YOU THINK? WHO WOULD BE A GOOD GEMMA? FELICITY? ANN? THE LADY OFF OF THE MUMMY AND THE MUMMY RETURNS WOULD MAKE A GOOD PIPPA. OOH…. I WANDER WHAT WOULD HAPPEN IN THE 3RD BOOK. I’M GOING TO DRIVE MYSELF CRAZY THINKING ABOUT IT. BUT THE LONGER IT TAKES, THE BETTER THE BOOK IT’LL BE… YIPPIE!!

  14. Hey there. I’m a fan of your books and artistic writing style and was wondering if you would add me to your friend list. I’m a novelist as well…but unpublished. I just finished my first novel (I’m sixteen years old) and had a few questions concerning agents, etc.

    Thanks

  15. KEEP WRITING … PLEASE

    So I have to say that I love love love love love your books … I have read both and plan on re-reading them soon. I just finished rebel angels and I have to say that it was amazing. I love the end and hope that you write another one because I love the characters, your writing style, and the way that everything is playing out.

    I was so hooked on Rebel Angels that people would kind of fear me in the halls because i would be reading and walking. Not only that but I was so into it that I didn’t really want to stop reading, so 4 out of 9 of my teachers took up my book because i wouldn’t stop reading. Kind of hypocritical for a teacher to tell you to stop reading, I know.

    Your books are amazing! Please keep writing!
    Someday I hope to be as good of a writer as you are.

    sarahFAYE

  16. hello

    Hi Libba!
    I’ve started reading your books a few weeks ago, and now I’m completely hooked on to Rebel Angels.
    I was just wondering, do you add all the fans that post comments on your livejournal entries to your friends list?
    Thanks and bye!

  17. from a middle school student

    ok this is a quick one, i just wanted to ask when your next book is coming out, i am practically holding my breath, i just finished rebel angels and i cant wait for more!! i just love your writing, i actually want to be an author when i grow up and i only hope i will be able to spin stories like you can. your writing is exactly what i need in a book, so thank you for giving me my favorite book so far!

  18. middle school student again

    dear libba,
    i hope you get this, i just want to say how much i LOVE your books i was driving myself mad with wanting to keep reading rebel angels, i finished great and terrible beauty, then i could have literaly walked the 3 some miles to barnes and noble at night in PA, in the 2 degree weather, to get rebel angels, but noooooooo i had to wait 4 WHOLE DAYS!!!!(gasp gasp gasp) until i could have it, then i made myself save the last 150 so pages for a long car ride oooooooh i just cannot wait until the next book comes out, i hope i havent just bored you with my sorrowful tale (sniff sniff) because it probably would not be a good sign if i want to be an author.

  19. Happy belated New Year!!!! LOL My mom just sent me a site that had a link to your blog on it, and when I saw your name, I was like ‘Holy crap!!!! One of my favorite authors has a LiveJournal!!!!’ Honestly, I was. I have your book ‘A Great And Terrible Beauty’ sitting on my bookshelf right now, and I’ve been begging my mom to take me to Barnes and Noble to buy ‘Rebel Angels’ for a while now, but we never leave the house!!!! Being a teenager and not being able to drive sucks. LOL Have a good weekend!!!! You rock!!!!! LOL

    Erika
    catcraziegurl@aol.com

  20. Hey! 🙂

    Hey! I read both your books, and they were really interesting….is there going to be a third one, by any chance? I’ve written a couple of books but it seems that the only thing the people you meet at publishing companies are trained to do is tell people to go away. So how exactly did you get published? I see that you read animal farm. Remember the sheep who would start bleating “four legs good, two legs baaad” whenever anyone started to complain? Notice our government doing the same thing? Shoving oversimplified pictures of good vs. bad in our faces to drown out dissent? I know you probably get toooooons of people posting comments, but if you have time, you can email me at IAmLCN@aol.com.

  21. when will the third book come out?! and a piece of advice

    I absolutely adore your writing. Gemma Doyle reminds me of… me. I have read rebel angels and a great and terrible beauty. they are addicting and now im having addiction withdrawal. great. can not wait until the third book is out. Let us know soon please!!!!!!! I love how bluntly you speak in these blogs. You seem so easy to relate to. You are awesome! Good luck with book three! Oh and by the way I like what you said about taking risks in your writing. here is my advice, from one not yet famous writer because i am just a kid to a famous writer: go for it. The world will either love it or hate it. nothing in between. you have a fifty fifty chance. so take a risk. isn’t that what all great authors do? plunge head first into the middle of the ocean and just hope you won’t get eaten alive by the sharks. Besides, interesting twists and turns create a huge eagerness within the book’s reader to keep going. it fuels the reader’s imagination. At least that’s what your writing thus far has done for me.

    reach for the stars!

    XoXo plunge head first into the middle of the ocean and just hope you won’t get eaten alive by the sharks.I absolutely adore your writing. Gemma Doyle reminds me of… me. I have read rebel angels and a great and terrible beauty. they are addicting and now im having addiction withdrawal. great. can not wait until the third book is out. Let us know soon please!!!!!!! I love how bluntly you speak in these blogs. You seem so easy to relate to. You are awesome! Good luck with book three! Oh and by the way I like what you said about taking risks in your writing. here is my advice, from one not yet famous writer because i am just a kid to a famous writer: go for it. The world will either love it or hate it. nothing in between. you have a fifty fifty chance. so take a risk. isn’t that what all great authors do? plunge head first into the middle of the ocean and just hope you won’t get eaten alive by the sharks. Besides, interesting twists and turns create a huge eagerness within the book’s reader to keep going. it fuels the reader’s imagination. At least that’s what your writing thus far has done for me.

    reach for the stars!

    XoXo plunge head first into the middle of the ocean and just hope you won’t get eaten alive by the sharks.

  22. when will the third book come out?! and a piece of advice

    I absolutely adore your writing. Gemma Doyle reminds me of… me. I have read rebel angels and a great and terrible beauty. they are addicting and now im having addiction withdrawal. great. can not wait until the third book is out. Let us know soon please!!!!!!! I love how bluntly you speak in these blogs. You seem so easy to relate to. You are awesome! Good luck with book three! Oh and by the way I like what you said about taking risks in your writing. here is my advice, from one not yet famous writer because i am just a kid to a famous writer: go for it. The world will either love it or hate it. nothing in between. you have a fifty fifty chance. so take a risk. isn’t that what all great authors do? plunge head first into the middle of the ocean and just hope you won’t get eaten alive by the sharks. Besides, interesting twists and turns create a huge eagerness within the book’s reader to keep going. it fuels the reader’s imagination. At least that’s what your writing thus far has done for me.

    reach for the stars!

    XoXo

  23. hi, i have no idea where this is going or who it is going to, but if it is for Mrs. Libba Bray i would like to ask if there is going to be another book after rebel angels, please i beg u to make another one , your books are my favorite, and i really do get addicted to your books. I love them more than anything.

  24. I know that this a terribly old entry and that you must thing I’m an absolute loon for commenting on it now, but I just found your journal, was browsing, and decided to comment with one thing: I do speak fluent pig latin. I picked it up at a camp one time. 🙂

  25. Huge Fan

    Hi, I have read your triology a great and terrible beauty, rebel angels and am looking forward to THE SWEET AND FAR THING.

  26. I feel that is one of the so much vital info for me. And i’m glad reading your article.
    However want to commentary on few common things, The website style is ideal, the articles is in point of fact great :
    D. Excellent process, cheers

Leave a Reply

