Skater Girl

I still haven’t been to a book store to see Rebel Angels on the shelves. Must do that. Bad, bad author.

Yesterday, I was on the train listening to lots of stuff I downloaded from B’s iPod. One of the songs was Aqualung, by Jethro Tull. Okay, when I was in eighth grade, I used to lie on my bed wearing my Princess Leia headphones (so called because it looked like I had attached frosted cinnabuns to my ears) listening to this song over and over and over. I had this whole fantasy life going to this song in which I was…a, um…a champion figure skater. Yeah, take a moment to digest it. It didn’t matter that I lived in Texas–not known for its winter sports–and that I had NEVER HAD A PAIR OF SKATES ON MY FEET EVER (still haven’t), I was going for the gold. Literally. For I was not just a figure skater but an OLYMPIC figure skater! And I was skating to Aqualung. A song that lasts about seven minutes. Hello! They’d be carrying me off the ice in a body bag if I skated that long. But no matter. In this fantasy I was wearing an outfit that made me look like the love child of Liberace and Elton John. Lots of feathers. Major sequins. I did a triple lutz half-caf, extra-foam cow-thingy complete with back flip. Yeah, I know that’s not possible but it was my middle grade fantasy so stay with me. The audience went wild. The judges awarded me a perfect ten. The commentators got all crazy. But at some point, the fantasy would go stale. I’d get bored with it and need to up the ante. Then I decided that my entire family had gone missing in a plane crash on their way to see me perform and I had only been told moments before. But still, like the sequined, feathered trouper I was, I took the ice in honor of their memory, tears streaming down my face as I executed jump after jump to absolute perfection.

I really can’t listen to Aqualung with a straight face anymore.

I’m off to Boston to see my best friend who knows about my skating thing and the fact that I had a crush on all the Bay City Rollers and still she accepts me into her home.

And I will make it to the book store soon.

141 thoughts on “Skater Girl

  1. Your Books

    Hi Libba. I’m a 12 year old girl from MD and I simply go crazy over your books. When I finished A Great and Terrible Beauty I was astonished by the great ending, happy because it was soo good, and sad because it was over. Now I am in the process of reading Rebel Angels. It’s on my lap right now as I’m typing. I haven’t been able to put it down. I like Miss McCleethy a lot. Well, I don’t like her because she’s Circe but, I really like how you put her into the story like that. Very clever.
    I gave A Great and Terrible Beauty to my best friend for her birthday after I read it. She emailed me when she finished it and simply raved about how good it was. (Except for poor Pippa)Well, I have to go. Bye!!

  2. Finished Rebel Angels a mere few hours ago. Was totally caught offguard…felt much like a dunce. But, I got over it!

    Oh ho ho…the Rakshana and the Order were lovers…I like the sounds of that *fangirls over Kartik/Gemma* Geez louise! This book makes me so…”squee-ish” and giddy! But, I thank you for that. In the midst of teachers, idiotic peers, and crazy-but-lovable friends, this book is my sanctuary. This book was my sanity this whole week of hundred-pages-per-day reading. I would have read it in six hours maximum but…you know…school happens.

    Favorite parts:

    When Gemma tries to say how Kartik will NOT use her and she will not come at his beck and call but inadvertently ends up meaning…other things…*snorts* (Chpt. 3, pp. 26-27).

    And of course, the dancing part starring Lord Hoity-Toity and Lady Whatsit. *sighs* How romantic *is overly-dramatic*

  3. Ah, just in case anyone is interested (and already misses the Spence board):

    I consulted my pal Losa (orange_losa from the board) and she was like, “We should make our own Spence!” So after, like, three hours of my ineptitude, it is finally up, although the like, colors are not done, but they will be, I promise…

    Plus, like, that board was teh collnzz.

    http://s13.invisionfree.com/Spence_Academy/index.php?act=idx

    You have to join on the homepage, but then, like, you can post.

  4. rebel angels

    i loved your book so much and just want to tell you that i will be so sad when you are finnished with the triloghy. please wright another book soon after the third one. libba bray you are seriousley my favorite author. the thing between Gemma and Kartik is very interesting and makes the book so. i was recently in africa on summer vacation and didnt get my hands on the book untill the 28 th but i finnished it to day and cant wait till the next. just wanted to let you know all this. yous truly
    devoted fan

  5. …you, madame, I love.
    I picked up A Great and Terrible Beauty to read, because it had a corset on it, and I just couldn’t put it down! When I finished, I was pissed to find that it ended like that. So I returned the book to work (Yay Waldenbooks check out!) and discovered that the new book had come out that day. I’m waiting for the next one in this series more than Harry Potter. Thankyousomuch. ♥
    /gushing

  6. sweet

    i read a great and terrible beauty and i ordered reble angels 3 monthes ahead of time, i just srarted reading it a few days ago but im loving it!!! its wicked awsome!! your pritty fricken sweet!!!

    love,
    tia

  7. So, I went into my local bookstore and calmly walked down the YA aisle looking for a book I knew had just come out… As I was walking by, the cover for A Great and Terrible Beauty caught my eye as usual (they say not to judge a book by its cover but without that cover I honestly would probably have never picked up the book in the first place). And, wait, what was that next to it? A new Libba Bray Book?! Wow, how did I miss that?! I eagerly snatched it up then completely forgot the book I originally went there for (oh if you truly must know, I went in for Eldest). I haven’t had the chance to read it yet because I want to reread the first book again and my copy is currently 4 hours away, but I’m sure it’s going to be just as great as the first one was. Thank you so much for sharing your talent in writing with the rest of us.

  8. About the book/author/reader

    Dear Libba,
    After four days of excitment i have just finished Rebel Angels. It was so amazing, compelling (wow i am using big words) and just all and all… WOW!!!!! I hope that after reading this comment u will say to urself-“oh that was nice of them.”-because after reading both of ur books i want this message to mean something to you as your books have meant to me. Once i saw your boock tuked away next to the other new random books i was just stunned and could not move because first of all i did not know that you were going to make a sequal to A Great and Terrible Beaty (i know-bad reader/fan! i should have known!) And that they should have made a bigger display saying “HEY U THERE LOOK REBBEL ANGELS A SEQUAL TO ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS!BUY IT STUPID!” (maybe not that forceful but close enough.)So once i saw the book i grabbed it and litterally ran for the cash register.9i have so much to say i do not think my brain will stop.) After i finsihed the book i felt like a whole new person like Gemma did after she sealed the magic and i had so many questions to ask u that i might want to stangle my neck. My favorite part in the book is when Kartik got mad at Gemma for letting Simon “touch her hair” and “did not like the way he looked at her like she was ripe fruit” just manily i loved it at any part when the were in a conversation because i love the romantic parts. The part that really confused me in Pippa still in the relams after eating the berries and crossing the river. It also confused me becuase i the whole time i thought that she was corrupted by Circe and just insame and ticking Femma, Felicicty and Ann that she is fine. i am still partailly confused so if u ever think of randomly answersing this question i woudn’t be happier. What also really shocked me is figuring out that Miss Morre was Circe i coudn’t have thought it better so i send a million compliments to u. I do wanna tell you this thou-i think that you have one of the best imaginations in this world, tho to me, visiting ur website u seem like a down-to-earth-girl with a teenager sitll living in you.(again-good thing) And that someday when if i ever go to New York and i pass by you i will litterally scream to my lungs and faint. (liek you say every ordinary girl can do-but i might acutally become ill becuase i am so happy to see u in blood and flesh.) So-loved ur book, someday wish to meet you and dieing to read the third one.
    ~Sincerly, Sara Tina Bilke (i also did my name in an anagram-ha!)
    p.s. if you just read this- thank you for taking two minutes of ur life to reading my totaly suck up, will never shut up comment.

  9. Interview

    Sorry I’m bugging again! Mr. Kady’s (my journalism teacher) gotten his panties in a happy bunch over the idea and we’re putting out an issue right before homecoming (which is Oct. 8th).
    I’ve written the interview questions and I’m still searching for your email address (stupid aol/yahoo). I’m also writing a book review of Rebel Angels to go along with it. I love it so far! Amazing work on the sequel.
    But it may be a day or two before I email you the interview questions, and if I still can’t find your email address…:grumbles: Hm…there may have to be a secretive exchanging of email addresses happening again.
    Thank you SO much for doing this! It means a LOT to me!
    `Alyssa

  10. I just want to let you know (even though you have undoubtedly heard this from hundreds of people) that I went out and bought Rebel Angels as soon as it came out and finished it in one night. It is absolutely fantastic. You actually make me want to stop just writing little poems in all of my five randomly-strewn-about-the-house journals and actually become a writer. Wow, that was corny. But it’s true. I can’t wait to read the next book.
    -Julie

  11. i LLLLOOOVVVEEE your books!!

    my name is hannah and i’m 12. your amazing books inspire me to write my own. you know the very few books that you pick up and just carry them every place you go, hoping to read some more of it any chance you get? and those books that you almost cry when its finished becuase you wish it’d never end? thats how your books are. i STRONGLY encourage you to continue…you are the best author and write the best books that i have EVER read! and that says a lot!! i am begging you to write a third one continuing the intriguing gemma doyle! thanks again for making my life that much better!! your biggest fan — hannah power

  12. I adore your book!! ;]

    Ok, so my story of getting your Wonderful book: Went to B&N. Got weird looks as I stood there with a wretched expression on my face (as they did not have it). Ok, so do you ever feel too scared to go up and talk to the 7ft. tall guy behind the counter, for fear the book was right in front of your face, and then you look like a complete fool? Well that was me. So, I made my dear mother drive me across town (not old enough to drive, permit though!) and in the process making her have to buy gas because we were running on Empty, and I didn’t want to have to push the car down Randall Road, not fun. So anyway, we get to Borders. I go in and my dear madre goes to some shop, while I have her debit card. So I walk to the Young Adults section, and ok, it was smaller than a breakfast nook and there were 3 guys that worked there putting books away. Needless to say, there wasn’t really room for me, but alas, lucky me they had RA set up in its own little cardboard thingy (I don’t really know whats its called). I picked one up and I seriously think one of the guys just got done putting those books away cuz I got a look like who-do-you-think-you-are-messing-up-my-display and I gave a look like well-i-am-me-and-i-am-messing-up-your-display-to-buy-the-book-and-isn’t-that-why-you-have-the-display? Yeah, so I can say a lot in one look, mad skills I tell you. Then go to casher to pay, I know the little code thingy so I thought I could just do that and not have to sign anything. But with luck being a mean lady I had to sign, and when that happens to me I always feel like omg, when are the sirens gonna sound and swat come and arrist me?? Yes, I am paranoid. Nothing happened, no swat, no bright light in my face as the interrogate me, no, nothing, nadda, zip, zilch. Ok so now I feel like a jerk for writing this much, cuz I coulda just said, bought the book and it was a pretty amazing experience. Sorry for taking up time, its late and I can’t tell if I am tired or extremely awake, ok shutting up now.

  13. I LOVE YOUR BOOKS!!!!

    Wow, okay, where to start…. I guess you probably won’t reply to this but I hope you’ll get the chance to look at it. I’m just now finishing up Rebel Angels, and I must say, you have now gone up in my author ranks. (Yes, I have author ranks, they are much more reliable that the New York Times Bestseller List.) Your books are now a few of my favorites that also include the Harry Potter series and CLive Barker’s Abarat trilogy. Congratulations, and I hope that I will one day be in the same place that yu are now.
    Katie, Colorado

  14. Rebel Angels

    Rebel Angels and A Great and Terrible Beauty are my two favorite novels. If you arent already writing a third- which i suspect you have in mind- then please do. I recommended these books to some friends and they couldnt put them down after the first chapter! I read Rebel Angels in about three hours, not lifting my head the whole time. Thank you so much for introducing me to Gemma Doyle, I am forever in your debt.

  15. just adding my comment to the masess of comments you alredy have. if you actually glance at this, that will be more than enough.
    i just wanted to say that i love your books so much. they have such feeling and truth in them it’s hard not to believe that there really isn’t a gemma doyle runnign abotu some place.
    As much as i love A Great and Terrible Beauty, i have to admit that Rebel Angesl was so much better. i hope that you write another one. i couldn’t bare to have the story end now!!

  16. Hi, I know that this has nothing to do with your journal entry, but I couldn’t find any other way to communicate with you. I really like both of your books and I was wondering, actually hoping, that you would be writing a third book? As I was checking out your site I saw that a movie was made of A Great and Terrible Beauty, and I was hoping that it is really truthful to the book and pretty much follows the story line, does it? Well thank you for your time.

  17. you’re so awsome Libba Bray!!!

    Omg, I loved your first book, and couldn’t get to the store fast enough when I heard that your second novel was out. I too write books and novels, although never had the courage to publish any of them. You’re first novel was so…. heart touching. Like I was really there. I have read the first chapter of your second novel “Rebel Angels” and you have met the expectiations that I have set to highly for you from your first book.
    I would love to be able to contact you and learn more about you. You are my favorite author. Before you, my favorite author was Iris Noble, which she wrote a book, a long time ago, called “Megan” I do highly recomend that book. If you ever get the chance, do read it.
    Until next time, and keep the good stuff coming…
    WE LOVE GEMMA DOYLE

  18. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Just finished Rebel Angels…I’m going to go reread Beauty again…I will not rest or read any other book until #3 comes out or I’ll be going through withdrawal!

  19. I just finished Rebel Angels a few seconds ago! ๐Ÿ˜› I liked it even more than its prequel! How could you not visit the bookstores? How exhilirating to see one’s own book in a store! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Hopefully, someday, I’ll see a book of my own in a book store. But I have to finish it first… ๐Ÿ˜‰ Best wishes to you!

  20. Rebel Angels

    Yesterday i was at barnes and noble trying 2 fine a perfect book to read… Then suddenly i saw it! REBEL ANGEL! i never knew there was goin to be a second part. So anywayz i bought it and right when i got home i started to read it! i didn’t put it down until i was sleepy as hell. So the next day (thats today). I wake up and start reading it again…. and i finished it! it was such a great book. Better then the first! But still it bugs me….. I want Gemma and Kartik to get together!!! UGH!! they NEED each other! She better make a third book!
    Okay well that is all! LATERzzzz

  21. Ok…so I live in Kansas. Yes, I know. And I have been trecking to my local bookstore everyday since the 23 to try to find a copy of REBEL ANGELS, and I finally tracked one down. I mean, I have literally been going and asking everyday for 13 days if they have a copy. The employees knew my name. I finished it in about 4 hours and…well…frankly it was incredible, and I find it so disconcerting that anyone can write so well, especially in a sequel, that I’m going to have to insist that long experiments be preformed on you. Purely for scientific research of course. However, if the final book was to come out soon…we might spare you…

  22. from an empathetic reader……

    Dear Libba,
    I got your book A Great and Terrible Beauty a while on one of my many trips to Barnes and Noble. I just recently picked it up and started reading and found that I could not put it down until a day later when I finished it. I was so taken back by it. I instantly fell in love with the story and all the characters in it. When I read the end I noticed that the ending was left open for a sequel and I was praying that there was going to be one.
    On sudden chance I went to none other than Barnes and Noble with my dad yesterday. I was looking around for a while when suddenly I layed eyes on Rebel Angels sitting next to A Great and Terrible Beauty and put two and two together and the next thing I know I was grabbing it and consuming page by page until I was done with it at 11:00 pm.
    I think now would be the time to mention that I’m fourteen going on fifteen and my one dream is to be a writer. Yes, I know a lot of people have that dream and nothing comes of it in their whole lifetime. I was scared that my ideas or stories wouldn’t make it and that they would ccrny in some people’s eyes, but when I read both of your books I realized that maybe there is hope for me. I have many fantasies, such as the ones in your books, about magic and mystical lands. When I read your author note I started imagining what your were like and how you came to think up such a story. I imagined that you were fun and sarcastic, who has the same dream of being able to just sit around and read all day long.
    Yes, I know this is a long note but didn’t know any other way to contact you and I had to let you know how much I praise you and your books and that I am deeply anticipating the next one. I am sure that it will just as good, if not better, than the last ones. I hope that one day I might be able to hear from you in a letter back, or a note, or anything; anything that would let me know that you read this. If not I understand, I have recently discovered that it is hard to be a writer as you do not have all the time in the world to write.
    I wish you and your family all the best in the world!

  23. from an empathetic reader….

    Dear Libba,
    I got your book A Great and Terrible Beauty a while on one of my many trips to Barnes and Noble. I just recently picked it up and started reading and found that I could not put it down until a day later when I finished it. I was so taken back by it. I instantly fell in love with the story and all the characters in it. When I read the end I noticed that the ending was left open for a sequel and I was praying that there was going to be one.
    On sudden chance I went to none other than Barnes and Noble with my dad yesterday. I was looking around for a while when suddenly I layed eyes on Rebel Angels sitting next to A Great and Terrible Beauty and put two and two together and the next thing I know I was grabbing it and consuming page by page until I was done with it at 11:00 pm.
    I think now would be the time to mention that I’m fourteen going on fifteen and my one dream is to be a writer. Yes, I know a lot of people have that dream and nothing comes of it in their whole lifetime. I was scared that my ideas or stories wouldn’t make it and that they would ccrny in some people’s eyes, but when I read both of your books I realized that maybe there is hope for me. I have many fantasies, such as the ones in your books, about magic and mystical lands. When I read your author note I started imagining what your were like and how you came to think up such a story. I imagined that you were fun and sarcastic, who has the same dream of being able to just sit around and read all day long.
    Yes, I know this is a long note but didn’t know any other way to contact you and I had to let you know how much I praise you and your books and that I am deeply anticipating the next one. I am sure that it will just as good, if not better, than the last ones. I hope that one day I might be able to hear from you in a letter back, or a note, or anything; anything that would let me know that you read this. If not I understand, I have recently discovered that it is hard to be a writer as you do not have all the time in the world to write.
    I wish you and your family all the best in the world!

  24. There is a god, and her name is Libba Bray.

    I loved Rebel Angels… LOVED it. I loved how Cecily was so annoying at the beginning, and I started cracking up at her story of Jemima and Cecile. She-Who-Inflicts-Misery-Simply-By-Breathing. Hah! I never liked her…

    And WOAH. Major plot twist. But Miss Moore is still one of my favorite characters. ๐Ÿ˜›

  25. are you writing a sequal to rebel angels?

    Can you please please please make sequal to rebel angels.I want to know what happens with the new alliance.e-mail me at kelseymei@yahoo.com
    p.s.I’m going to be an author too when i grow up.

  26. Frog Princess

    I love your books its like I can’t get enough of them! I finished reading Rebel Angels, it was awesome. I started reading your books in 4th grade (I haven’t had a good year)I just found out you had another book. I can’t wait to read it! I don’t mean to rush you or anything its just …………hurry!

  27. Re: Frog Princess

    Gemma and Kirtik need to get together. they deserve each other. What happens to Pippa? Why did she have to go bad? why didn’t Gemma and Kirtik ever actualy get together for a long time? Will they ever actually get together together? Why do you have to make your books so addicting?

  28. I NEED TO READ MORE!

    Hey when do you think you will be done with the third book? I can’t wait for it. Please tell me it is soon!

  29. Sequal

    Hey! I just finished reading your book, Rebel Angels, and I LOVED it!!!^.^ Are you going to be writing a sequal to it?

    ~Much love~
    Alyssa

  30. hey

    i think “A Great And Terrible Beauty” is
    an awesome thriller! i read the whole thing in two days because i was so tied in with the suspense!

  31. Hey

    I LOVED your two books( A Great and Terrible Beauty & Rebel Angels)!!!I LOVED your two books( A Great and Terrible Beauty & Rebel Angels)!!!I LOVED your two books( A Great and Terrible Beauty & Rebel Angels)!!!I LOVED your two books( A Great and Terrible Beauty & Rebel Angels)!!! Do you plan on writting part three?! If not, you should I’d buy it!!! Along with many other EAGER people!!!
    LuV,
    GeOrGi

  32. Welcome To Nepal For Trekking In Everest, Annapurna and Langtang…
    Dear Travellers,
    !!Namaste and warm Greetings from Himalayan Country Nepal!!
    My name is madhav Adhikari. As an independent trekking guide and tour operator in Nepal, I would like to introduce myself to you.
    I was born and grown up in the rugged and remote district in the Central Himalayan region. I started my career in the adventure tourism at the very young age after completing my high school level studies, working for different trekking companies for seven years in different capacities sometimes as porter, assistant guide and now working as an Independent trekking guide. I have already obtained trekking guide license from the ministry of tourism, government of Nepal.

  33. Heartily, Welcome to Family Adventure Treks & Expedition.

    Family adventure treks and expedition P.ltd is a leading trekking and tour organization. We are officially based in Thamel Kathmandu Nepal. We would like to offer and highly recommend the Tsum Valley Trekking, Ganesh Himal Trekking, Manaslu Trekking, and Mustang trekking tours for your vacation in 2013!!!
    Namaste!! Family Adventure Treks & Expedition is one of the recommended companies for organizing successful Everest Base camp trekking, Annapurna Base Camp Trekking and Peak climbing including Everest expedition. We carefully organize adventurous holiday packages on Trekking and Expedition, Tours and Sightseeing, Climbing and Biking, Jungle Safari and Rafting as well as various tours around the various regions of Nepal, India, Bhutan and Tibet.
    Our Company is one of the governments authorized, so known as certified and trusted trekking agency. We are the member of Trekking Agencies Association of Nepal (TAAN), Nepal Mountaineering Association (NMA), and Nepal Tourism Board (NTB), so known as certified and trusted trekking agency. We arrange all the requirements for fulfilling the desire in the classic route to the various trekking region with the introduction to the mixed ethnic culture of this Himalayan kingdom. Since the inception, Family Adventure Treks Team is an environment and ecologically concerned team and company. With our qualified and experienced staffs and guide we make all the arrangements in viewing the much favorability in respect to our clients. We always concerned for the qualitative and safety travel in Nepal. On account of, our team getting success results, big ratio of re-visitors and CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE FOR THE YEAR 2012 on Trip Advisor.

Leave a Reply

