Monkey Bread

It’s my birthday. Woke up this morning and said two words: Monkey Bread.

Now, you may be saying to yourself, What a strange person. What secret meaning does that phrase hold? And how do they get the monkeys on the bread?

Come, let me show you the secrets of the sea.

The cafe across the street makes a delicious concoction–“cinnamon sugar swirled through sweet dough”–called Monkey Bread that is just a big lump of love on a plate. (“Made with real monkeys!”) This thing sits in your colon like it has a half-life of two thousand years. I will die, and grave diggers will still be able to unearth it, smiling up through my bones. It is that solid. I ate the whole thing AND I had a cup of coffee–first time in weeks. I am FLYING right now, people! The sugar-java combo? Oh my god. Seriously, I think I could achieve cold fusion in a Coke can. I am drunk with power. Also, I may not need to eat for another week.

Of course, it was snowing when I got up. I am fairly certain I put in a request to the universe for sixty degrees and sunny. The universe, she mocks me.

As it is my bday, I have to do the requisite, Taking Stock list. Here is my list for things to do this year:
1. Finish Bovine.
2. Start work on book #3 in the Gemma trilogy.
3. Become fluent in Pig Latin.
4. Stop reading US magazine. Just as soon as I find out why Denise Richards left Charlie Sheen.
5. Buy a house.
6. Become a grown-up and see a financial advisor.
7. Get off my crappy insurance and find less crappy insurance.
8. Stop procrastinating, starting next week.
9. Go see more live music.
10. Learn Dreamweaver so I can finish my website.
11. Floss.

I’m sure there’s more–bend spoons using only the power of my mind; buy socks with catch phrases on them; befuddle telemarketers by answering their pitches with, “I’m sorry, Satan tells me I can’t do that unless I roast and eat your dog.”–but it’s good to have far-reaching goals.

Tonight, B. is taking me out to dinner. I’m a big fan of eating, so this works. I’m excited. Last night, my friend Suse took me out for sushi and some general hanging out time at the Loki Lounge where somebody played The Specials right at midnight, and I was made deliriously happy by this, like the universe planted a big wet smackeroo on my cheek. It almost makes up for the snow. Almost.

Wednesday night, I went out with a group of teen authors, not for my bday, actually, but a gal can pretend, right? It was David Levithan, Rachel Cohn, Sarah Lenofsky, Wendy Mass, Billy Merrill, Daniel Ehrenhaft, and Emily Whose Last Name Escapes Me Right Now and I Feel Like a Heel for It. Arrrghh! Aging brain. Also, I did not spell check those names so don’t quote me. It was very fun. Lotsa laughs, picture taking, silliness, and dancing using only our arms and without actually leaving our seats. Come to think of it, that bar did clear out pretty fast… And I was home in time to watch “American Idol” which is my secret shame. (Or not so secret since I’m posting it here.)

So I guess it’s been a pretty nice birthday so far. But when you start the day eating tiny slivers of Monkey spread on sweet dough and capped off with coffee, how could it not be?

75 thoughts on “Monkey Bread

  1. The Most Real Author

    Oh my god another fan girl. Yep I can hear you saying it already. What if I said I was a fourty year old man? Wouldn’t beleive me, damn! Well. I suppose I should saw happy birthday, you are another year older. Five points to me for astute observations. Anyways. I just want to say that I really adored your books. *Gasp* You’ve never heard that one before. Anyways, it’s not beacause the writing is the best I’ve ever read. Beacause often the books I like to read are never the ones that I think are the best written. Don’t take it the wrong way you have great little descriptive interludes. Anyways I ramble. I really enjoyed your book beacause of the ending. It wasn’t happy. I loathe end all be all happy endings. The one where the endings are real. You are also the most real author I’ve ever met, and I haven’t even met you. o.0
    I’ve heard quite a few author’s speak, Terry Trueman, Jane Kurts, a bunch of other people, and that doesn’t make me any more qualified, but I think that you are the most real one I’ve ever met. You have a way with us tweens-teens, that involves talking to us like you would to anyother person.
    Anyways, you really inspired me, which is pretty hard to do since most of the time I’m posturing pretending to be cool and sarcastic, aloof and generally holy then thou.

    Happy Birthday, sorry I ruined your day. Or a couple seconds of your day. Ooh I sound insecure. Happy Birthday.

  2. that’s good…

    Good idea with the telemarketer pitches, I should try that sometime. Good goals for the year though, trilogys are great, especially when they are finished!! Happy Birthday!

  3. Appyhay irthbayayday!

    Iway alway eadray yway eakspay igpay atlay inway uflay entway ylay. It’s really easy just take the first sound of syllable (some people do words, but that always seems to easy to understand.) and add it to then end of the syllable with -ay added on. What happens when the syllable starts with a vowel? Then you just say the word with -way on the end! Just like any language, speak it as much you can! Emay andway ymay eindsfray eakspay itway inway ontfray ofway eachtayersway and eoppaylepay eway ontday ikelay!

  4. hey Libba! Its Morgan from the YM Contest…if u do remeber me from LA, Newton Middle School! Well I went to Ann Brashares book signing mentioned you and she said you were a wonderful person..and of course I got to say,”I Know!” Well please write me sometime -eyelitcharm@msn.com

  5. Oh lord

    I can always count on your blog to make me laugh me ass off. Not always a good thing, since the pope just died and we are watching news coverage (of nuns crying) and I am laughing 5 feet away. But it isn’t like we are catholic. My mother just gets upset when anybody important died. She is currently making a mosaic arch panels, using the pope as the focal piece. Somebody tell me this is odd.

  6. A very happy belated birthday to you. I’m not sure if this is the proper venue for a post of gushing praise of the literary variety, but I’ll try it anyway.

    I picked up “A Great and Terrible Beauty” the other day at my local bookstore, on the basis that the cover art was superb and the title sounded very cool. I occasionally do that with books, even though this was stacked on a table proclaiming “Chick lit”, a description I despise. But still, I’m a sucker for a catchy title, so I figured, nothing ventured, nothing gained.

    This was one of the most stunning books I’ve ever read. I just came off a Jane Austen kick, and “A Great and Terrible Beauty” reflected the period so very well, but with an added humanity that Austen’s characters never convey for me.

    Gemma is a great protagonist, interesting without the annoying perfection that too often characterizes “kick-ass” female leads. Her friendships with the others are admirably portrayed; there’s always some uncertainty in their dealings with each other, some selfishness, something in their characters which suggests an impermanence to all things, that one could betray the other at any moment. Towards the conclusion you definitely see the stronger bonds that do pull these very unlike girls together, however, and I appreciate that you conveyed that without the cliched “they looked at each other and realized they were best friends forever” moment.

    Finally, “The Lady of Shalott” is one of my favourite poems, and I love the way you worked it into the narrative.

    I look forward to reading further books in this series. And I still really like the cover art.

  7. I think it’s pretty common. When writing, we’re often working from the unconscious, the world’s biggest emotional file cabinet. Sometimes we make a conscious decision–oh, I’m going to have this person have that habit so-and-so has of biting her cuticles–and other times, we read something later that we’ve written and go, ah-ha….

  8. Re: The Most Real Author

    I work really hard at pretending to be sincere. Really.

    (Kidding. Sorry, couldn’t resist.) My number one rule in writing and in life is I try not to bullshit anybody. Glad that seems to be coming across.

  9. ya!!!

    i’m SOOOOOO excited to read #2 & #3 . i LOVE The Great And Terrible Beauty!!!!!

    sorry if i sound all weird and stuff but i just wanted 2 let you know libba bray that you do have LOTS of fans out there.

    Blondie

  10. Hurry Up

    I have never ever liked a book as much as the two Gemma books that you wrote! I really really love them. YOur an inspiration to me and my writing. So HURRY UP and write the next Gemma book. I don’t think that I can stand being without a Gemma book. I’ve read AGATB at least three times and Rebel angels like twice! Hurry Up, I know you can’t rush a writer but you can’t stall a reader either!!!!

  11. okay, how do u say “I” in pig laten?

    Howdy Ya’ll,
    How do u say words like “I” and “A” and “is” in pig latin, i mean really every time i try i’m sure i just buter it as hopelessly as i do spelling 9I’m sure i spelt something wrong on here, with my luck it’ll be spelling….*cringes*) Ne way my name is Sarayah(which u can read,
    but i bet a penny u cant pronounce it right the first time…none of my teachers have…)….umm and i can’t seem to get alone with the comp. it keeps booting my off, i’ll b good if i can just post this (it will be my fith attempt)My e-addy is Spoinkyest@wmconnect.com, i’m trusting u with it some plz keep it safe, I like to write, but can’t seem to finsh ne thing at the moment and don’t kno who 2 get ne thing published if i do…so….okay i’m gonna get. oh the Howdy ya’ll is b/c i’m from tennessee,(but don’t tell ne1)I don’t talk with much on an accent thou…kinda creepy really…..oh well, i’m glad i shoud get to post it this time.
    tx,
    Don’t Blink,
    Sarayah

    Oh…and don’t blink means
    not to blink b/c life can
    pass u by in the blink of
    an eye….

  12. Thank you

    Thank you so much for writing A Great and Terrible Beauty. I had never liked reading before my eye caught the title of your book, which by the way was what made me want to read it. Once i picked that book up i couldnt put down. At the end of every chapter you always kept me curious to see what would happen next. Your writing is so descriptive i can always picture it in my head (I did have nightmears about that deamond thing in the alley when Gemma was on her way to Spence though). Im now reading Rebel Angels and it is just as good as the first one. I cant wait till you finish the third one. I will defenatley read all your books you are my favorite author, and once again thank you for making me want to read again it is so enjoyable, calming, and fun.

  13. i adore your work

    Hi,

    i am from the little red school house and i met you for 3 glorious minutes in the library with Jennifer in my pajamas. That was the opposite impression i wanted to make on you by the way. If you still don’t remember me here’s a refresher. I am the one who cried after seeing you and you said you made my day. That was like a complement from a god to me. Thank you for letting me meet you and letting me worship in your glory. Thank you.

  14. i adore your work AGAIN

    hi,
    it’s me again

    i just realized that your birthday is in 11 days so happy birthday and have some more wonderful monkey bread.

  15. SO glad your doing a book 3

    I’m kind of sad that she left Simon, but then I’m also happy because then she can go with Katrik. But can’t wait to see whats going to happen in the next book. ANd to see what your going to call it. But I must say that I really do love your series with Gemma. I find these books very interesting and intense. Most of the time when I start to read the books I can’t put them down, its like I need to find out whats going to happen to all of the characters in the end.
    *~*Candice*~*

Leave a Reply

