If it’s Tuesday, this must be Belgium

Busy, busy, busy.

I’ve been all over the place. I had a signing at B&N, which was fun. I was pretty nervous at first. Something about rows and rows of empty chairs and a podium pulls out the insecure 7th grader, she of the Sears “Husky” jeans and Toni Tenille haircut, in me. Fortunately, people showed up. There were way cool girls asking way cool questions. Very nice.

Had a reading last night for NY Writers Coalition, which is a great group to support. They bring writing workshops into underserved communities. It’s a group run by Aaron Zimmerman, whose novel, BY THE TIME YOU FINISH THIS BOOK YOU MIGHT BE DEAD, is a great read. Check it out at http://www.greebee.com.

Then there’s my book #2. Ahem. Yes. Well. How can I put this? Oh, I know, how about, It sucks so bad that I can actually feel the oxygen leaving the room? Yep. That about sums it up. I can’t seem to catch the thread on this one. It feels all icky and stupid. And working out the magic system? Jesus, I can barely write up a grocery list that’s coherent. I keep tripping myself up. “If they do this, then Y happens. But if Y happens, why didn’t it happen before?” That kind of crap. So then I make an exception to the rules. And that leads to anarchy. A plotless blob of atmosphere with a sprinkling of decent metaphor. So I’m back to figuring out the structure again. It is a vicious cycle. I am cranky and I’m mainlining chocolate. Oh, and it’s due at the end of May. What, me worry?

Barry keeps trying to tell me that I get this paranoid, morose, and unbearable during everything I write. But I just think he’s being nice.

Oh, and I’m doing a booksigning at BOOKS OF WONDER in NYC (18th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues) on Saturday, April 10th, 12:00-2:00pm. I’m psyched because I will be there signing along with the delightful, stupdendous Ms. Holly Black. Be there or be somewhere else.

30 thoughts on “If it’s Tuesday, this must be Belgium

  1. Holy Bananas!

    I can come to this book signing! Last time I had play practice but this time I can come!! 23 skidoo this is great! And I can see if Britta can come! She read your book and loves it too.

    Quinn/Quintosthefreshmaker

  2. Sounds interesting… just stopping by to say, from one writer to another, that I absolutely loved the book. One of the best and most original stories I’ve ever read, and I have to say, quite possibly the winner of the ‘Book of the Century’ award in my…well, book. Plus, you are from Texas (I’m down on the west side of San Antonio), which is bonus points to the infinite power for you. *high five*

    And when I say ‘from one writer to another’, I mean ‘from one wannabe who writes fanfics and posts them on the internet, and is still struggling with her own original book to an amazingly talented published writer’. I guess I’m in no position to preach. Heh.

    Anyways, thanks for the read, it was great, and thank you for actually reading this lovely ramble. Hope you have a nice year!

  3. Then there’s my book #2. Ahem. Yes. Well. How can I put this? Oh, I know, how about, It sucks so bad that I can actually feel the oxygen leaving the room?

    *snickergrin* I hear ya, oh I hear ya, said she who’s 75,000 words into book two and thinking “I’m so f*cked…”

  4. from a huge fan =)

    i was @ a crown bookstore trying desperately to find a good book
    [its a quest i venture on a LOT.. i read strangely fast]
    so i pick up A Great And Terrible Beauty, see the cover, and am instantly interested
    i read it in a few hours, and am in love! its a wonderful book!
    *and then i read it like 3 times in one week! i LOVE it!!!
    –i hope the book ur referring to is a sequel? haha =)
    good luck w. it!!! ur a great writer!
    much

  5. Hi!

    I was in the local Borders today, browsing the YA new arrivals, when I came across A Great And Terrible Beauty. I just finished reading it (after, you know, lying on my bed riveted to the book in my hand for about three hours straight, much to my mother’s chagrin)and I absolutely love it. I want to applaud you for writing excellent, intelligent YA in a time when the majority of the new selection consists of at least 75% “Bridget Jones”-esque diaries (which are fine in their own right, but not when everyone and their mother decides to write their own, over-worked, watered-down version). *Ahem*. Anyway, I just wanted to tell you how much I loved the book, and let you know that I’ve added you to my friends list, in case you care about that sort of thing. So, once again, thank you for your addition to YA fiction, and please do continue to write fabulous stories.

    Best Regards, Vivian James

  6. hayllo

    Heyllo, my name is Alyssa Niemeyer. Hee, I like your icon. Shoes are funny. I’m doing a review for my newspaper on your book, “A Great and Terrible Beauty”. Lemme tell you lady, you’re book is amazing! I like your mini-biography too…
    Anywho, It’s awesome that you have a livejournal…it’s like…the author of my favorite book in the whole entire world has a livejournal.
    I don’t want to sound incredibly STUPID, but inbetween the times when you’re writing your new book and going to the gym (and possibly embarrassing your son???), I would love to interview you. Now, I’m sure you’ve gotten fifty thousand people begging you for interviews and I don’t want you to feel like I’m invading on your privacy, however, an interview for our High School’s newspaper would be…amazing.
    Hee…livejournal is awesome…except the fact that random people can comment *sweatdrop*.
    Sorry for bugging!
    Alyssa Niemeyer
    P.S. I love your book! I had to say that…more than once.

  7. Hi Libba,

    Sorry it’s taken me sort of forever to get around to friending you. This is the blonde librarian that spent far too long rambling to you about Freewill and second-person point of view last Saturday at Books of Wonder. I’m so glad Kimberly Paone introduced us, because really, a person who thinks that carbs are a requirement for a happy life must be someone I want to know.

    Anyway, hope things are going well. You’ll be happy to know that my library’s copy of A Great and Terrible Beauty went out yesterday to a seventh-grade girl who “saw it in an airport and it looked so cool and I really wanted to read it but my mom said I couldn’t buy it because we were getting on a plane and I was hoping you had it and oh wow there’s going to be a sequel I can’t wait!”

    -Carlisle

  8. I’m clueless

    Hey Lib,
    Here’s my 2nd try at posting. I’ve finally joined the world of LJ, though I think I may get kicked out, as I am finding out how amazingly clueless I am at this stuff. I’m going to attempt to friend you. OK? I haven’t figured out how yet but…
    How the writing goes well. Just finished my revision and sent to friends. Am waiting nervously for their response.
    Love,
    Jo

  9. I wanted to pester you into doing a book signing down here in the D.C./ Bethesda/ Baltimore area. I would love to meet you in person. I was a member of Book Divas for awhile and asked a few questions there. I’ve been meaning to go back to see if you ever replied. Also would love to see you over at http://www.greatestjournal.com =]

  10. Libba:

    Just wanted to compliment you on “A Great and Terrible Beauty.” It was one of the YA books I reviewed for my newspaper group out here in the Los Angeles area. What a terrific piece of spidery gothica. I thought I saw one of our sports writers reading a copy, too. Heh. I’ll be sure to keep an eye out for your future works. 🙂

    Cheers!

  11. First Visit

    Hello 🙂 This is my first visit. I just heard about your book AGATB and ordered it from the library. It should take a couple of days to get here, then I’m going to read it. I learned about it from Cassandra Claire’s LJ, she’s writing the popular fanfic affectionately known as ‘The Draco Trilogy’. I’m writing my own HP fanfic as well. Not done yet – on chapter 9. If I remember, I’ll post a link to it here for you to peek at when it’s done.

    All the best with your wip on the 2nd book. You’ll work through the glitches just fine, I’m sure. Thanks –Melody

  12. Joining in the AGATB love

    I’m also of the “read A Great And Terrible Beauty four times in a week” persuasion. Your book is beautiful, Libba. Truly beautiful. Bravo.

    Also: there’s going to be a sequel?! *happy squeal* I can’t wait.

    One more thing: do you mind if I friend you?

  13. Wow. Your book was incredible. I honestly could not put it down. I am now a self-declared huge fan 🙂 Please, write more books. Quickly.

  14. “Amazingly talented published writer” just noticed that she has been out in public today–all day–wearing a price tag and a size sticker across her ass. Don’t be too impressed.
    Thumbs up to San Antone. I miss the enchiladas already.

  15. Re: Just wandering,

    Yes. Especially if it would get me out of writing right now. Ever read Jo Ann Beard? She’s an Iowa writer I love. Or is it Indiana? Oh damn. I get all my vowel states confused. Sorry.

  16. Re: hayllo

    Alyssa, I would be tickled pink to be interviewed for your high school newspaper. It will be another stop in my quest for world domination, which I plan to do just as soon as I pick out the right shoes. (Footwear…so important in evil oligarchies.)

    If you can post your email address, we can get the party started. I’ll try not to scare anybody with my answers. 😉

  17. Dude, I’m in airports now? Whoa. My little mind is blown.

    I had a great time talking to you. Book people–they rock. As do carbs. They’re my new drug of choice. Take that, Atkins freaks. Thanks for passing on the good word.

  18. Love your icon. My “internal editor” would probably feature whips. I affectionately refer to her as my “internal sadist.” She no likeee what I’m writing.

    Thanks for the review. Sports writers? REading girly gothica? Say it ain’t so, Joe.

  19. Re: hayllo

    Yay! I’m so happy! Thank you so much! When I read this, imagine a dorky 14-year-old jumping up and down screaming, “I get to interview my favorite author for the paper!!!” over and over.
    Yeah. Well, that’s what happened.
    My email is Alyssa9689@aol.com. Yep, had it since 4th grade, never got around to changing it.
    I need a life.
    And yes, go footwear and world domination!
    ~Alyssa~
    P.S. Thanks again!!!

  20. I affectionately refer to her as my “internal sadist.”

    Hee. I feel you there. No wonder I’m “worded out” by the end of the day. Your I.E. may not like that you’re churning out, but you’re the captain of the ship. The first mate could only do so much. 😉

    The sports writer in question is now sighing about finding his own Pippa. It’s strangely amusing.

    Good luck with your progress!

  21. I have to let you know that I was pleasantly surprised three days ago to see a sequel to A Great and Terrible Beauty at Barnes and Noble. I had read the first when it came out and loved it. I thought that you would for sure be writing a fallow up, but I never did my research to see. I’ve just finished Rebel Angels and I’m extremely angry at myself for not taking enough time with it because now I’m reminded that I’m not Gemma Doyle living in the Victorian era, which I’ve fallen in love with. Reading your books took me into a world so unlike my own, yet I could still relate to Gemma. I loved how much of a girl she was. She’s mixed up and confuse like any other 16 year old, no matter the century.(I’m 16 by the way)I won’t even begin to tell you how in love with Kartik I am because I could go on forever about each character, even about Ms. Nightwing, who I was delighted to see that I shared I name with her! I wish I could tell you everything you did right, but that would be impossible because the characters, with their flaws, were perect. The plot and dark feel of the book was perfect. I hope you understand how much I apreciate your books. I look forward to the last of the trilogy and also dread it because it’s the end. Thank you for taking me to London, to Spence and to the Realms.
    Sincerely, Lillian

Leave a Reply

